HBAFH Meets… Jamie Wise, Model


Photo: M & P Models

Jamie Wise has recently hit the runway for the first time. A drama school graduate, he moved to London to pursue his dreams but, with his dreamy looks, was soon snapped up by a model agency and has since been round the world – but its only the beginning. Always a sporty guy with big dreams, I’ve known Jamie since we were 8, but I never thought he’d ever end up modelling, even less that he’d take to it like a duck to water, but with those chiselled features and beestung lips, it’s really no surprise. I caught up with him while he’s out in Milan on business…….
HBAFH: How did you first get into modelling?
Jamie: Well, I moved to London after University to be an actor but after a while I found I was working way too much to cover living expenses and I actually had little time for acting, and friends had mentioned I should try to go into modelling, so I walked around some agencies and before I knew it I was in Milan! 😀
HBAFH: What was your first job? What work have you done since?
Jamie:My first job was for a online catalogue called sercretsales.com, was great seeing my face go up on a website 😀 Since then I’ve worked in Neil Barret showroom, done several lookbooks for Energie, Craven, and Alessandrini, editorials for Velvet, Hero and Shoen magazines, all within 4 months! So it’s been pretty full on!
HBAFH: Was it what you’d imagined it would be like before you got into it?
Jamie: I imagined I wouldn’t particularly fit in, I never cared about how I looked too much and I didn’t know too much about the industry and I thought that my type of personality wouldn’t be suited to what I thought was ‘wearing clothes and getting pictures taken’. In actual fact it’s a really good industry to work in, most of the time you find people with great personalities who in totally the same boat and it just becomes a lot of fun going to castings and doing shoots with people you know from all over.

Photo: M & P Models

HBAFH: What has/have been the best experience(s) so far?
Jamie: Going to Milan by far, I’ve met a lot of really cool people and really enjoyed myself. Especially enjoyed staying in a different non-English speaking country for more than 2 weeks (2 months in fact!) It’s just a really nice lifestyle. So far I’ve been to London, Paris, Milan and Bologna, but I’m going to New York on the 25th of April so it’s all exciting times! The agency has been great here and my Mother agency got me the contract for over here. Milan’s great, I can’t eat Pasta or Pizza because it makes me ill but it’s really not too bad. I love living in Milan at the moment it’s sunny, nice people, really relaxed in general and I’m really comfortable in my surroundings which is always a plus!

HBAFH: So, you’re with a few agencies in different cities around the world – how does that work?
Jamie: Basically they come from around the world to London agencies and you do a casting with them, then they decide if they want you or not. Similarly my “mother” agency goes around the world to different countries and presents their models and they choose who they want! Usually you have to fly out on incredibly short notice so it’s exciting!

Photo: M & P Models

HBAFH: What kind of people do you meet through modelling?
Jamie: Generally really artistic, intelligent people. Everyone has aspirations, and visions and I’ve been fortunate to have met people who are mostly like that. It’s great working with Photographers and stylists and seeing where they are drawing their inspiration from. It is especially amazing to see how a shot transforms into a finished picture. You really understand what the artists were trying to achieve when you see the end product.